The formula
Zeaxan Ingredients: The 11 in Each Serving
Zeaxan has 11 ingredients in one 600 mg blend per 2-capsule serving.
In label order, heaviest first: Himalayan pink salt, cinnamon extract, AGP choline, bacopa, lutein, bilberry leaf, vitamin B6, ginkgo, vitamin B12, zeaxanthin and green tea extract.
For the full panel, see the label.
Written by the Zeaxan editorial teamUpdated
The full list
What are the 11 ingredients in Zeaxan?
Eleven ingredients share one 600 mg total. Hover or tap a card to see the research amount and the main caution; each opens a full profile.
-
01
Himalayan pink salt
Rock salt, mostly sodium chloride
Per serving: not published · listed 1 of 11
No eye evidenceStudied atNo eye research; sodium Daily Value is under 2,300 mg a day
Watch forThe whole blend is 600 mg, so the sodium is small, but count it if you limit salt.
Full profile -
02
Cinnamon extract
Cinnamomum (type not stated on the label)
Per serving: not published · listed 2 of 11
Not supported for any conditionStudied atNo eye trials; research does not clearly support cinnamon for any condition
Watch forCassia cinnamon contains coumarin, linked to liver problems in sensitive people at high intakes.
Full profile -
03
AGP choline (alpha-GPC)
L-alpha glycerylphosphorylcholine
Per serving: not published · listed 3 of 11
No eye trialsStudied atCholine needs: 425-550 mg a day; upper limit 3,500 mg
Watch forA large observational study linked alpha-GPC use to higher stroke risk. That does not prove it causes strokes.
Full profile -
04
Bacopa monnieri
Bacopa monnieri herb, standardized to 20% (compound not named)
Per serving: not published · listed 4 of 11
Limited and mixed (memory, not eyes)Studied atNo eye trials; small, mixed memory trials
Watch forUpset stomach, nausea, diarrhea; not for people on thyroid medicine; may affect how the liver handles drugs.
Full profile -
05
Lutein
Carotenoid; the 5% describes the extract's lutein content
Per serving: not published · listed 5 of 11
AREDS2 dose helped people who already had AMDStudied at10 mg a day in the AREDS2 formula
Watch forNo set daily need. The label gives no amount, so it cannot be matched to AREDS2.
Full profile -
06
Bilberry leaf powder
Vaccinium myrtillus leaf
Per serving: not published · listed 6 of 11
Not supported for night visionStudied atNight-vision trials tested bilberry anthocyanoside extracts, not leaf powder
Watch forNCCIH says bilberry leaves may be unsafe in high doses or for long periods.
Full profile -
07
Vitamin B6
Pyridoxine
Per serving: not published · listed 7 of 11
Essential nutrient; no eye benefit shownStudied atAdults need 1.3-1.7 mg a day; upper limit 100 mg
Watch forHigh-dose B6 taken for a year or longer can damage nerves. Count every supplement you take.
Full profile -
08
Ginkgo biloba
Ginkgo biloba powder (plant part not stated)
Per serving: not published · listed 8 of 11
Not shown for eyesStudied atNo eye trials in our sources; not shown to prevent dementia
Watch forMay raise bleeding risk with warfarin and other blood thinners; dizziness, stomach upset, headache.
Full profile -
09
Vitamin B12
Cyanocobalamin; the 1% describes a diluted form, not 1% of the capsule
Per serving: not published · listed 9 of 11
Helps only if you are lowStudied atAdults need 2.4 mcg a day; no upper limit set
Watch forOlder adults, vegans and metformin users may run low; a blood test tells you, not a supplement.
Full profile -
10
Zeaxanthin
Carotenoid; the 5% describes the extract's zeaxanthin content
Per serving: not published · listed 10 of 11
AREDS2 dose helped people who already had AMDStudied at2 mg a day in the AREDS2 formula
Watch forListed 10th of 11, so it is one of the smallest parts of the blend.
Full profile -
11
Green tea extract
Camellia sinensis extract, standardized to 50% (compound not named)
Per serving: not published · listed 11 of 11
Not shown for eyesStudied atNo eye trials
Watch forExtracts in pills are a rare but well-established cause of liver injury; drinking green tea is not.
Full profile - 600mg
One blend, no single amounts
All 11 share 600 mg per 2 capsules, listed heaviest first. Inactive: rice flour, magnesium stearate, silica dioxide.
Read the full label
Reading the order
Why is salt the first ingredient in Zeaxan?
Salt comes first because a blend must list its ingredients by weight, heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So Himalayan pink salt is likely the largest single ingredient in each serving, ahead of every eye nutrient.
The brand does not say why salt is there. The good news is that the whole serving weighs 600 mg, so the sodium is small next to the Daily Value of under 2,300 mg (FDA, sodium). If your doctor has you counting salt, count it anyway.
Zeaxanthin, the product's namesake, is 10th of 11.
Sorted by purpose
Which Zeaxan ingredients are for the eyes?
Three of the 11 are sold for eyes: lutein, zeaxanthin and bilberry leaf. Of those, only lutein and zeaxanthin have solid eye research, and that research was in people who already had AMD (Cochrane, 2023).
| Group | Ingredients (label order) | Eye evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Eye carotenoids | Lutein (5th), zeaxanthin (10th) | Studied at 10 mg and 2 mg in AREDS2 (NEI, AREDS2) |
| Eye herb | Bilberry leaf (6th) | Not supported for night vision (NCCIH, bilberry) |
| Memory ingredients | AGP choline (3rd), bacopa (4th), ginkgo (8th) | No eye trials |
| B vitamins | B6 (7th), B12 (9th) | Essential nutrients; no eye benefit shown |
| Others | Pink salt (1st), cinnamon (2nd), green tea extract (11th) | None |
Read the full profiles for lutein and zeaxanthin and bilberry.

Label language
What do 5%, 20% and 50% mean on the Zeaxan label?
They describe how strong each extract is, not how much of the capsule it fills. "Lutein (5%)" usually means the extract is 5% lutein, so 100 mg of that extract would hold about 5 mg of lutein.
The 5th ingredient in a 600 mg blend can weigh at most 120 mg, and the 10th at most 60 mg. At 5% strength that is at most about 6 mg of lutein and 3 mg of zeaxanthin per serving, and likely much less. These are ceilings, not the real amounts, which are not published.
The "1%" after vitamin B12 describes a diluted form, not 1% of the capsule.

Try Zeaxan for 90 days2 capsules a day · 3 bottles per pack · today's price on the listing
See today's priceSafety
Which Zeaxan ingredients need the most care?
Four have known cautions worth a pharmacist check.
Blood thinners
May raise bleeding risk with warfarin and other anticoagulants; can cause dizziness or headache (NCCIH, ginkgo). See the ginkgo page.
The liver
Extract pills are a rare but well-established cause of liver injury; drinking tea is not (LiverTox, green tea). See green tea and cinnamon.
Thyroid medicine
Can cause nausea and diarrhea, and is not advised with thyroid medicine (MSD Manual, bacopa).
Stroke history
A large observational study linked it to higher 10-year stroke risk. That does not prove cause (Lee et al., 2021).
Not on the label
What is missing from the Zeaxan formula?
Two things are missing. First, any single amount: the label gives only the 600 mg total. Second, the rest of the AREDS2 formula: Zeaxan has no vitamin C, vitamin E, zinc or copper (NEI, AREDS2).
Next step
How should you use this ingredient list?
Take it to your pharmacist or doctor along with your other medicines and supplements. NCCIH advises telling your health care providers about every supplement you take, because "natural" does not always mean safe (NCCIH, 2019).
- Check for doubles: other eye vitamins or a B-complex add more lutein, zeaxanthin or B6 (NIH ODS, B6).
- Ask about ginkgo if you take a blood thinner.
- Mention liver disease, thyroid medicine or a past stroke.
See the label, line by line.
FAQ
Questions about Zeaxan ingredients
Which ingredient is there the most of in Zeaxan?
Himalayan pink salt, most likely. It is listed first, and blends must list ingredients by weight, heaviest first. The label does not give its amount, but the whole serving is only 600 mg, so the sodium is small next to the Daily Value of under 2,300 mg.
Which AREDS2 nutrients are missing from Zeaxan?
Four of the six: vitamin C, vitamin E, zinc and copper. Zeaxan shares only lutein and zeaxanthin with the AREDS2 formula, and it does not print how much of either it contains. So the two cannot be compared dose for dose.
Is the ginkgo in Zeaxan safe?
It is safe for many adults, but it needs a doctor's check if you take a blood thinner. NCCIH says ginkgo may raise bleeding risk with warfarin and other anticoagulants, and it can cause dizziness, stomach upset and headache. The amount in Zeaxan is not published.
Is the bilberry in Zeaxan from the berry or the leaf?
The leaf. The label says "Bilberry Leaf Powder", while the night-vision trials tested anthocyanoside extracts from the berry. NCCIH also says bilberry leaves may be unsafe in high doses or for long periods. The amount in Zeaxan is not published.
Does Zeaxan contain any allergens?
The bottle label makes no allergen statement either way. The eBay listing says "Allergen-Free", but that wording is not on the label and no proof is published. Each capsule also holds three inactive ingredients: rice flour, magnesium stearate and silica dioxide. If you have an allergy, ask the seller before you buy.
Why is Gingko spelled that way on the Zeaxan label?
It is the label's spelling of ginkgo biloba, the common herb. We keep the label spelling when we quote the Supplement Facts panel and use the usual spelling elsewhere. The ingredient is the same either way, listed 8th of 11.
Who wrote this
Written and reviewed by
Plain-language pages built from the bottle label and linked medical sources.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is run by an authorized U.S. retailer, not by the manufacturer. We are paid a commission when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More about Zeaxan

Supplement Facts
The whole Zeaxan label typed out, with what each line means and what the label does not tell you.
Read more
Lutein and zeaxanthin
The two eye carotenoids in Zeaxan: label order, the best-case amounts, AREDS2 doses and the foods that supply them.
Read more
Side effects
Every ingredient's known side effects, the medicines to check, and what to do if Zeaxan does not agree with you.
Read moreUSA authorized Zeaxan retailer
Ready to try Zeaxan?
The listing sells one 3-pack: 180 capsules, 90 days at 2 a day. Check today's price, delivery and return terms on the listing before you pay, and keep your eye exams.
- eBay Money Back Guarantee
- 30-day returns, as listed
- Free 2-4 day delivery, as listed
